All Fall Down by Ally Carter

22571275

Synopsis (taken from Goodreads):

Grace Blakely is absolutely certain of three things:

1. She is not crazy.
2. Her mother was murdered.
3. Someday she is going to find the killer and make him pay.

As certain as Grace is about these facts, nobody else believes her — so there’s no one she can completely trust. Not her grandfather, a powerful ambassador. Not her new friends, who all live on Embassy Row. Not Alexei, the Russian boy next door, who is keeping his eye on Grace for reasons she neither likes nor understands.

Everybody wants Grace to put on a pretty dress and a pretty smile, blocking out all her unpretty thoughts. But they can’t control Grace — no more than Grace can control what she knows or what she needs to do. Her past has come back to hunt her . . . and if she doesn’t stop it, Grace isn’t the only one who will get hurt. Because on Embassy Row, the countries of the world stand like dominoes, and one wrong move can make them all fall down.

Well it’s official. I will never stop loving Ally Carter. I didn’t know what to expect going into this book, seeing as the last time I’d read an Ally Carter book was probably when I was 11, and though I LOVED the Gallagher Girls then, I didn’t know if I would still be into her books. But boy oh boy, this book blew WAY past my expectations and then some. It was, simply put, amazing. It was a perfect blend of politics, friendship, and mystery, and I read it at the speed of light. Seriously. I was supposed to be doing homework, but I started this book this morning and ended it tonight. I loved it that much.

My favorite part of the novel was probably Grace. She was broken, determined, and yes, a bit crazy. But that’s what made her amazing. I never quite knew what was going on, if I could trust Grace or not, and if she really was completely coo-coo. And not in that annoying We Were Liars way, where I felt cheated by the author and the main character, with no real connection to the characters. I loved Grace and I rooted for her 100%. I don’t know how Ally Carter could write someone so complex, someone quite honestly crazy, and make the readers able to understand and see the character so clearly. And Grace’s little group of misfits and long-lost friends? It was a really well-written relationship between characters and a friendship I really enjoyed.

And that PLOT TWIST. I thought I had actually figured it out, I thought I actually knew what was going to happen, but just when I thought my beliefs were being confirmed… man, was I wrong. The direction changed completely, and just when I was beginning to understand THAT new direction, WHAM! The real, whole truth hit me like a rock. Suffice to say, I did not see it coming… And I was very, very impressed. The twist certainly set this novel up for an interesting sequel, along with some possible romance… πŸ˜‰ I am DYING to get my hands on the next book, like, now. Like, I can’t even think of a single thing I disliked about this book. Sosososososo good.

My rating: 5/5 starsΒ β—Š

4 thoughts on “All Fall Down by Ally Carter

Leave a Reply

