Top 5 Wednesday | Disappointing Eye Candy

Hey guys! I decided to join Top 5 Wednesday, hosted by Lainey over at gingerreadslainey on Youtube. Top 5 Wednesday is weekly meme with a new topic to discuss every Wednesday. All you have to do is just talk about your top five books in that category! (Simple and fun, right?) If you’re interested in joining, feel free to check out the Goodreads group.

This week’s topic is disappointing eye candy, so without further ado (from the least of the most disappointing to the most disappointing books)…

5. Madly by Amy Alward

23309862

I definitely didn’t dislike this book (I think I gave it a 4/5 stars), but it just wasn’t memorable. This cover may actually be on my favorite covers list, but while the content was entertaining and different, it didn’t blow me off my feet like the cover did.

4. All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

18460392

I had heard sooooo many amazing things about this book, everyone saying they bawled like a baby and that this story was so, so special. But to me, it felt fabricated and just didn’t live up to the hype. I’m actually considering getting rid of this one, despite the beautiful cover…. You can read my review of it here.

3. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton

18166936

Again, I had heard people talk about how beautiful the writing in this book was, and I figured that beautiful writing + beautiful cover = YES. But sadly, I wasn’t all that impressed with the writing, and the story was just a bit too weird for my taste. You can see my mini-review of it here.

2. November 9 by Colleen Hoover

n9cover

Just like all of the above, the hype drove me to this book. I didn’t hate it, but it wasn’t oh-so-spectacular. Whenever I look at the gorgeous, gorgeous cover, I really, really want to like this book more. But although I loved the beginning, it just slowly went downhill and I didn’t end up loving it. Trust me when I say, I wish I liked it more!!!! See my full review of it here.

1. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

41vtpdcaq5l-_sx330_bo1204203200_

Ah, Red Queen. The most disappointing of them all… believe me when I say this was the book I most wanted to like, but it just fell so, so flat for me. It was so, so sad when I realized how much I didn’t like this book. It’s one of my few 2 star ratings. Read my review of it here. (Beware – it’s very… passionate.) I just get a little sad when I think about how much potential was wasted in this one.

So, this sort-of kind-of ended up being a big fat list of overhyped books as well – whoops. Just remember – these are my opinions. I don’t mean to personally offend anyone, and I hope you enjoyed my little list!

xoxo,

Anna

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday | Disappointing Eye Candy

    • alittlebookworld says:

      Believe me; I’m sad I didn’t like them too. I’m still going to read Glass Sword (in the hope that I’ll like it more) and some of Colleen Hoover’s other books, especially since I loved the beginning of November 9. 🙂 And yeah, The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender just had nothing that grabbed me. It was just boring and weird.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. itsabookishthing13 says:

    I’m so sad for you, that you didn’t enjoy November 9 that much! I fell head over heels, but it was my first Colleen Hoover book, so I had nothing to compare it to. I just finished Confess, and I found it to be spectacular too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

