Best Books Recommended to Me | Top 5 Wednesday

Yay! Another Top 5 Wednesday!! Top 5 Wednesday is weekly meme with a new topic to discuss every Wednesday, hosted by Lainey over at gingerreadslainey on Youtube. All you have to do is just talk about your top five books in that category! (Simple and fun, right?) If you’re interested in joining, feel free to check out the Goodreads group.

This week’s topic is books I’ve had recommended to me that I LOVE, so without further ado (from the least of the least best to the best best books)…

6. Starflight by Melissa Landers

IMG_20160210_222131

I never would have thought that a novel in space could have been something I ended up loving so much, but boy was I wrong! Starflight was just so, so much fun, from the amazing cast of characters to the steamy romance to just the entire thing.

5. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

the raven boys

(I’ll be posting a review of this one SUPER soon, so watch out for it 🙂 ) I’m not sure I EVER would have picked this up on my own (At least, not before my days of bookstagram and book blogging…), but boy am I glad I did. I just loved everything about this novel: the tone, the characters, and the ever persisting mystery of it all. I definitely recommend the audiobook of this one. 🙂

4. Throne of Glass & A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

IMG_20160215_235643

This goes to the whole series, really. Who knows if I would’ve picked this series up eventually, but I’m so grateful for all the bookstagram/booktube love that led me to this book. Since reading this book, I’ve recommended it to two of my friends who are now just as obsessed with it as I am. AGH Sarah J. Maas is just such a phenomenal author. (I’m also including A Court of Thorns and Roses (which I have a review for 🙂 ) here because ALL of Sarah’s books are amazing.)

3. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

IMG_20160206_225707

I mean, with the cheesy title and all, I don’t think I would have picked up this book if it weren’t for how much everyone on bookstagram, booktube, and even my friends irl love this book. But I have to say, I was SO happy when I finally picked up this book. It wasn’t all silly fluff like I expected: it had depth, actually plausible romance, and swoon-worthy guys and settings. I couldn’t ask for a more perfect contemporary. ❤

2. Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

salt to the sea

(I have a review for this one here, if you’d like to read it 🙂 ) Initially, I wasn’t super interested in reading this book. I had a case of “oh, it’s just another WWII book…” but boy, was I wrong. There was a ton of hype (specifically on bootube) around this book from ARCs sent out by publishers, but I wasn’t really interested in it until I went to one of Alexandra Bracken’s events (squee!) where she said she was currently reading it and bawling her eyes out. Obviously, if Alex (an author I really, REALLY look up to) loved it, I had to read it. And she was right, by the way. It was effing fantastic.

1. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

IMG_20160215_212110

I don’t think I will ever, EVER, be more grateful for a book recommendation than when my friend recommended me this book. She just placed it in my hands and told me to read it, and I will love her forever for that ❤

(Okay, so I had to pick six books this week… There are just so many amazing books out there ❤ )

*Honorable mentions go to….* Passenger (because reading this book is what led me to meet Alex Bracken, who is just so amazing and inspiring) and The Hunger Games (because why not?).

Comment below with some book recommendations, or books that were recommended to you that you love! 🙂

xoxo,

Anna

Leave a Reply

