Miss Mayhem Kicked Some Serious Butt // Book Review

516dz9kvwll-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Goodreads Synopsis: Life is almost back to normal for Harper Price. The Ephors have been silent after their deadly attack at Cotillion months ago, and her best friend, Bee, has returned after a mysterious disappearance. Now Harper can focus on the important things in life: school, canoodling with David (her nemesis-turned-ward-slash-boyfie), and even competing in the Miss Pine Grove pageant.

Unfortunately, supernatural chores are never done. The Ephors have decided they’d rather train David than kill him. The catch: Harper has to come along for the ride, but she can’t stay David’s Paladin unless she undergoes an ancient trial that will either kill her . . . or make her more powerful than ever.

***Thank you Penguin Teen for sending me a copy of Miss Mayhem to read and review!***

My thoughts:

It wasn’t until I finished this book and realized that I now have to wait for Lady Renegades that I realized how much I enjoyed this world and the characters. It feels comfy and welcoming, and for whatever reason, it makes me smile. I think it’s the awesome contemporary-meets-magic-and-superheroes vibe that really makes me love the world.

What I liked:

It was just fun. It made me smile on the inside so many times ❤ (THE SASS from Harper). Going back into this world just felt so good. I love the way it feels like a contemporary, but has kick-butt, superhero-like characters and MAGIC.

Also, the friendships just make my heart warm. Harper + Bee = best friend goals, and I love the dynamic between Harper and Ryan as friends rather than BF/GF. Like seriously, I would be fine with an entire chapter where they all just hug and eat ice cream. Their friendship just makes me happy 🙂

tumblr_ncmh6fyzay1sotuj5o1_500

On top of the overall vibe-that-I-can’t-really-explain-but-loved, I devoured the book like candy. It went by in a blur; I got sucked in and found it really hard to put down. I just wanted to know what was going to happen. And ugh, I’m literally peeing myself in wait for Lady Renegades… SO CLOSE YET SO FAR. (okay, maybe not peeing myself, but…)

What I disliked:

Occasionally, I got a little frustrated with the characters. It was one of those cases where I just felt like really? Do you really want to make that choice? Also, I wasn’t totally on board with the David-Harper relationship (although more so than the first book). I feel like they seem like they could be the cutest best friends, like, ever, and that would be just as great as their romantic relationship.

The things I disliked about Miss Mayhem were generally minor, but one thing that continuously felt a bit wonky was the plot. The Peirasmos plot felt underdeveloped, and the plot overall felt a little rushed and just generally a little confusing. I wasn’t quite sure what was going on some of the time, but that was usually made up for by the fast pacing and the overall fun dynamic of the book. 🙂

Overall:

I sooooo need the next book in this series. The whole thing is just so… I can’t describe it except to say enjoyable? Lovable? Fun? Awesome? Kick-butt? I definitely recommend this series to anyone just looking to have fun. You’ll fall in love with the characters and the world, and wish it would never end. ❤

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars and a craving for superheroes and contemporaries.

2000px-4-5_stars-svg

 

2 thoughts on “Miss Mayhem Kicked Some Serious Butt // Book Review

  1. Tasya says:

    AAHHH I really need to read this book! Rebel Belle took a while to get into, but I’m really hooked at the end. I’m really curious how david/harper/ryan would work together! And yes, I also think David and Harper are better off as best friends! I really enjoy their banter. Lovely review, Anna! 🙂

    Like

    • alittlebookworld says:

      aw thank you!! and i really need to read lady renegades and finish off the series because i NEED TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS. it’s not the best series in the world, but i love how entertaining the characters and the story are.

      Like

Leave a Reply

