Review ➳ The Crown

26074181

Title: The Crown (The Selection #5)

Author: Keira Cass

Genre: fantasy/dystopian/romance

Publisher: HarperTeen

Synopsis: When Eadlyn became the first princess of Illéa to hold her own Selection, she didn’t think she would fall in love with any of her thirty-five suitors. She spent the first few weeks of the competition counting down the days until she could send them all home. But as events at the palace force Eadlyn even further into the spotlight, she realizes that she might not be content remaining alone.

Eadlyn still isn’t sure she’ll find the fairytale ending her parents did twenty years ago. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and soon Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more impossible—and more important—than she ever imagined.

••••••••••••••••••••

I thought this book was an adorable end to the series. It was full of adorable cameos by America and Maxon, and I loved seeing Eadlyn learn about her parents’ selection and her parents’ lives before they were her parents. Seeing them together was so, so satisfying and AGH I LOVE THEM.

One thing that Keira Cass is notorious for (at least in mind) is awkward dialogue. The Crown did have it’s awkward moments, but overall, it made me smile and laugh and was thoroughly entertaining.

One of the best aspects of this book, I thought, was Eadlyn. She really, really grew and learned throughout her two small books. Yes, she can be snotty, but I think she realized that, and she grow to be really, really strong. She was finally able to make sacrifices for her people and her country, and I honestly just liked reading from her point of view.

The one thing in the book I was skeptical about: I wasn’t totally on board with the ‘love interest’ (not the guy-just how it all… turned out?) aspect of this book, but I really enjoyed Eadlyn’s relationship with all of the boys in the selection. However, I feel like the selection portion of the story was sort of put on the backburner, which made the match feel… not forced, but implausible? It felt more like that’s how Keira Cass wanted to write it, and less like he was Eadlyn’s choice. Don’t get me wrong – they’re adorable together. BUT. Did they ever discuss if this was want he wanted? To be King? Did I miss something? Sure, they were sweet together, but I just didn’t feel that spark. The book instead had a larger focus on politics, which I found really, really interesting (although I do wish there had been a bit more selection-ing to balance it out).

All in all, I really, really enjoyed this book, and I’m truly sad to find this series at it’s end. The Crown was a great conclusion to the series, and like always, I gobbled up Keira’s writing in pretty much no time flat.

1280px-4_stars-svg

2 thoughts on “Review ➳ The Crown

  1. Zoe says:

    I am so glad you liked this so much! It’s always great when a series finale meets your expectations. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

