Summer Foresights & TBR 🌞

Before you get all skeptical on me… yes, I am aware that it’s already halfway into summer. In fact, I started writing this post a while ago, but let’s just say… my work ethic wasn’t very strong after exams, school, and just life in general. However, I wanted to complete my list, so here it is in its full (albeit a bit late) glory: What I want to do with my life this summer.

Blog more. So far, I’m not doing so well with that… but I want to blog more. I’m aiming to post 2-3 times per week and include more fun, discussion-y topics! I have a few really interesting ideas for some discussions, as well as a project I’ve been working on recently with Jill (the book-blogging bestie) on some really interesting content including some really cool bookstagrammers/bloggers/businesses, etc.

Do some calligraphy. I recently started getting into brush calligraphy in the past couple months, but because I don’t have brush pens, I’ve been using Crayola calligraph2.jpgmarkers. Surprisingly, it works!! It’s so easy to make my writing look beautiful, spruce something up, or make something simple look fancy. I loveloveLOVE featuring a little bit of calligraphy in an Instagram post, and I’m planning on purchasing some Tombow brush pens and learning how to do real brush calligraphy! It’s more of a hobby, but it’s something I really enjoy doing and makes me happy.

Craft some more bookmarks! If you follow me on my Instagram, you may have seen the post featuring a IMG-20160626-WA0013corner bookmark I made last summer, or the watercolor bookmarks I made waaaaay back when. And while I’ve already made a few watercolor bookmarks on a rainy day (see right), I want to add a few more flower corner bookmarks to my collection, either to photograph or give away to friends. They’re super easy and fun to make (here‘s the link to the Youtube tutorial I used), and I’m always getting comments on them, both on Instagram and in real life.

Finish (or get caught up in) a whole bunch of series. This is a definite must. I have several books on my shelves that I’m just plain embarrassed I haven’t read yet. (See The Raven King, Queen of Shadows, Glass Sword, Clockwork Prince & Clockwork Princess.) Unfortunately, my progress is slowed down a lot by review books and Netflix, but I’m still hoping to complete at least a few.

Read a bunch of books that have been on my shelf for waaaaay too long. Six of Crows, Shadow and Bone, Mistborn, Falling Kingdoms, a ton of summer contemporaries… the list goes on and on (considering I have over 90 unread books on my shelves… oops?). My family constantly makes fun of me for having so many unread books, and I want to show them that I am not obsessed (although I am) and read some of those books. Accomplishment!

Go some places, haul some books, take some pictures. We all know I’m addicted to buying books (duh), so I figured I’d own up to it and just say the honest truth here: I know I’m going to buy a ton of books. So why not go exploring and have some fun hauls? I’m also hoping to get out of town a bit and find some cool photo locations, because taking photos in the same five places around my house can honestly get a bit monotonous.

Just enjoy summer. ❤ Most of all, my top summery priority is doing things I want to do and just relaxing before I have to go back to reality.

So what about you guys? Do you have any summer goals (whether it be working, reading, traveling, etc)?

6 thoughts on “Summer Foresights & TBR 🌞

  1. Tasya says:

    Those bookmarks and calligraphy really look beautiful!❤ I plan to read more contemporaries this summer and catch up with some tv show I’m really behind with. Oh and also going out more to enjoy the sun while it last 🙂

    Like

  2. Summer @ Xingsings says:

    You’re so creative, and your calligraphy looks amazing! I love my Tombow brush pens as well; they work so nicely. My only goal this summer is to catch up on some review copies and read some of the books that have been collecting dust on my TBR shelves forever. I noticed that you said that you haven’t read CP and CP2. The Infernal Devices is my favorite YA series. Hope you get to those sooner than later! Anyway, good luck on your goals. And, happy reading and blogging!

    Like

Leave a Reply

