My (Not So) Mid-Year Book Freakout

Okay… admittedly we’re well over halfway through 2016 (crazy, right??), but I’ve seen this tag circulating around, and it looked like a fun way to show off some of my new favorites and look back on the books I’ve read so far this year! So far, I’ve read a total of 53 books, some of which were instant favorites, some of which were big disappointments. So sit back, relax, and let’s get on to the tag, shall we?

Best book so far this year-.jpg

It’s always impossible to choose a favorite, but out of all of the books I’ve had the pleasure of reading in 2016, I would have to say that my favorite “me” book was The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson. This book stole my heart, and I conquered the 500-page beast in 2 days. Everything was perfect–the atmosphere, the characters, the relationships–just everything. If youhaven’t had the pleasure of reading this book yet, I highly, highly recommend you pick it up.

Best book so far this year- (1)

17927395

This one hands down goes to A Court of Mist and Fury. I thought I loved the first book (review here), but ACOMAF completely blew me out of the water. Yes, I was expecting it to be wonderful, but I didn’t expect to fall as head-over-heels in love with it (and Rhysand) as I did.

Best book so far this year- (2)

Although I’m better at reading new releases than all the older books sitting on my shelves (oops), there are way too many possible answers to this one. Here’s a handy little list of shame:

  • A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab
  • Stars Above by Marissa Meyer
  • Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard
  • Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
  • Thanks for the Trouble by Tommy Wallach
  • Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Best book so far this year- (3)

The book I’m by far most excited for in the second half of 2016 is Heartless by Marissa Meyer. I’m pretty much a (not-so-subtle) rabid Mariss Meyer/The Lunar Chronicles fan, and I just can’t wait to get my hands on the beautiful Heartless.

Best book so far this year- (4)

It still saddens me to say it, but I really didn’t like Queen of Shadows as much as I wanted to. Don’t get me wrong, I loved it, but I felt like it was unnecessarily long and filled with fluff. You can see my review of it here. I also felt let down by the infamous November 9 and The Rose and the Dagger.

Best book so far this year- (5)

25614492If it weren’t for Alexandra Bracken’s recommendation of this book, I honestly probably wouldn’t have read it. But I was so surprised to be so blown away by Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. Historical fcition isn’t normally my jam, but I laughed and cried and fell in love with Salt to the Sea. I highly recommend you give it a chance. (See my review here.)

Best book so far this year- (6)

Believe it or not, I’d never read a Maggie Stiefvater book before this year. It feels like I’ve been a part of The Raven Boys‘ world for ages, but I only fell in love with Maggie and her writing in the beginning of 2016. The amount of love I have for the stories and characters she weaves is crazy, and I can’t wait to read more books by her.

Best book so far this year- (7)

Is this even a question? Rhysand. Duh.Best book so far this year- (15).jpg

Can I say Rhysand again? Yes? Thank you.

Best book so far this year- (9)

Oh, gosh. Thinking about It Ends With Us still makes me emotional. It put me into the Most Annoying Slump of Ever and broke my heart and put it back together over and over again. You can see my (entirely too emotional) review here, but suffice to say this is definitely one of the most impactful books I’ve read, and deserves to be given a chance by everyone.

Best book so far this year- (10)

17838528The award for most smiley, uplifting book goes to The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson. Not only did I receive both an ARC (from a giveaway) and a hardcover (from the publisher), but I also got to meet Morgan Matson. She was just about the cutest & nicest human being ever, and her writing always makes me want to lie under the stars and just dream pure happiness and content. You can see my (hopefully fantabulous) review here.

Best book so far this year- (11)

I actually haven’t seen many book to movie adaptations this year (despite there being lots), but my favorite by far has been Me Before You. The book itself was loevely, but the movie summed it up just perfectly, from the acotrs to the setting to… well, everything.

Best book so far this year- (12)

2016 is the year I’ve begun to write reviews and get more serious about blogging, and I’ve actually written reviews for many of the books I’ve read. Some of my favorites include One True LovesThe Unexpected EverythingIt Ends With Us, and Red Queen (because although pretty scathing, it was fun to write 😉 ).

Best book so far this year- (13)

There are so many gorgeous book covers out there (yay for talent!), but I wanted to pick one that might be a little less usual. The cover of This Savage Song just has a color scheme and font that make my eyes cry in happiness, not to mention the fact that the story within is just as (if not more) beautiful than the outside.

Best book so far this year- (14)

I tend to read whatever I want, whenever I want (unless, of course, something is otherwise requested of me), so I can’t promise I’ll read anything. But, I do want to make it a goal to read and review all ARCs that have been sent to me, finally read the Grisha Trilogy, and start Falling Kingdoms (not to mention just slim down my physical tbr of over 100 books… oops?).

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

I hope you guys enjoyed that tag! It was a lot of fun to look back on what I’ve read so far, and upcoming books to read. Since it’s well over halfway through the year, I’m not going to tag anyone, but if you want to do it, consider yourself tagged. 🙂 Thanks for reading!

-Anna

10 thoughts on “My (Not So) Mid-Year Book Freakout

  1. Aldii says:

    Rhysand is everywhere!
    I’ve just started ACOMAF. I’m just 62 pages but omg I have so many things to say and oknjdsochsduhfdf, just just….
    I have to finish the Grisha Trilogy, I have to read the third book and I want to read Six of Crows.
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

