Review ➳ P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

25486998Title/Author: P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

Genre: YA contemporary romance

Publisher: Scholastic

Synopsis: Signed, sealed, delivered…

While spacing out in chemistry class, Lily scribbles some of her favorite song lyrics onto her desk. The next day, she finds thatsomeone has continued the lyrics on the desk and added a message to her. Intrigue!

Soon, Lily and her anonymous pen pal are exchanging full-on letters—sharing secrets, recommending bands, and opening up to each other. Lily realizes she’s kind of falling for this letter writer. Only, who is he? As Lily attempts to unravel the mysteryand juggle school, friends, crushes, and her crazy family, she discovers that matters of the heart can’t always be spelled out…

***Thank you to Scholastic for providing me with an eARC of this book! This in no way affects my opinion of it.***

This book was adorable. In the beginning, I was a bit skeptical. The writing wasn’t particularly remarkable, and I had yet to get a sense of the plot or the characters. But, all of the sudden, I found myself falling a little bit in love with it, from the premise to the adorable romance, as well as the family and friend dynamics. 

It wasn’t the most original premise ever (a love-hate romance, an anonymous penpal), but this book was just adorable. There was no “I let out a breath I didn’t know I was holding” (i.e. annoying cliches); it’s trope-y-ness was executed in a way where it felt fresh and adorable and perfect, never stale or overdone.

Our main character, Lily, plays the guitar. Right off the bat, this pulled me in. I always appreciate a book that includes music, because in my opinion, there aren’t enough of those that are popular in YA. And while there wasn’t a whole lot of playing of the guitar, I think it really added to the story, plot-wise, as well as really helping to define Lily’s character.

One thing I really loved about this book was Lily’s character. She was just easy to like and easy to relate to, and although she (of course) wasn’t perfect, she never annoyed me. I liked seeing her journey throughout the story. There wasn’t any life-changing character growth (mainly small things), but I felt everything was the perfect level for what this story sought to accomplish.

Lily’s relationship with her best friend Isabel wasn’t perfect either, but there was always that underlying friendship between them, just like that underlying love for family. Her own family also had so much personality, and I really appreciated the different family dynamics expressed between her and her penpal, and how those were represented in the story.

This was my first Kasie West book, and I can say for certain that I will be reading more from her. P.S. I Like You wasn’t a life-changing, important read, but I really, really enjoyed it; it’s the perfect little novel to pick up to get through a reading slump, binge-read in a day, or even to read in passing when life is busy. I recommend it to anyone just looking for a cute, fun romance with a side note of awkward and adorable.

 2000px-4-5_stars-svg

5 thoughts on “Review ➳ P.S. I Like You by Kasie West

Leave a Reply

