Six of Crows ➳ Book Review

23437156Title: Six of Crows

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Genre: Fantasy

Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

Synopsis:Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge
A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager
A runaway with a privileged past
A spy known as the Wraith
A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums
A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

So this was… something. Mainly, I’m not entirely sure where I stand on it. It was definitely good, but spectacular? I’m not sure. So, to make things easier, I’ve compiled two lists: one of things I enjoyed, and one of problems I had (because who doesn’t love a good list?)

Several things that were awesome:

1. A wonderfully wonderful atmosphere.

2. SO MUCH SHIPPING.

3. My precious baby Kaz… and Inej and Nina and Jesper and Wylan and Matthias. ❤

4. I only see more potential for the second book. Six of Crows set up a heck of a ride, and I honestly think it can only get better.

But onto some concerns:

1. The voices of the characters (although, yes; I understand this is written in 3rd person) weren’t very distinct from one another, and while it didn’t majorly impact anything, sometimes I felt like I was reading the same emotions/outlooks from different characters.

2. I think the complexity of all six of the characters occasionally left things muddled or a little overwhelming: I mean, 6 characters?? That’s a whole lot to deal with. However, in that same vein, I have no idea how Bardugo was able to create such fantastically well-developed characters within a single novel… it’s fricking amazing. Plus, I loved every single one of them.

3. A lot of the plot or explaining of the ‘job’ kind of went in one ear and out the other. It could be me, but my eyes kind of glossed over until the action actually happened.

4. I found Bardugo’s writing to be meh. It was nothing special, and I think at times was overly descriptive or just a bit boring. It was missing that teensy weensy bit of je ne sais quoi.

5. I honestly think if it weren’t for all the incredible hype around the book, I wouldn’t be so critical in my view of it, and I’m kind of sad that the hype spoiled some of it.

All in all, Six of Crows was a beautifully crafted and wholly entertaining book! I wouldn’t recommend this to a first-time fantasy-er, but to the fantasy lover, this might be your next obsession.

4.25/5 stars.

1280px-4_stars-svg

6 thoughts on “Six of Crows ➳ Book Review

  1. infinitbr says:

    I felt the exact same way about the eyes glazing over! 😂 I was so reluctant to reread the book because the explaining in the beginning was not doing it for my already tired brain (I read late at night so that’s probably why I couldnt handle it 😅).
    Will you be reading the next book? It’s full of a lot more action and the side pages are so. Pretty. It’s a cover buy except it’s on the pages 😱

    Like

  2. Ellie @ On the Other Side of Reality says:

    Ahhhh, I know what you mean exactly with this book! I walked into it expecting to love it and walked out kind of underwhelmed, probably because of the insane amount of hype. Of the six main characters, I only really felt a connection to Kaz and Wylan; I also found Bardugo’s writing to be pretty bleh and basic. I’m currently reading the Grisha trilogy, however, and enjoying that quite a bit more!

    Ellie | On the Other Side of Reality

    Liked by 1 person

    • alittlebookworld says:

      Oh gosh, I’m so glad you share my opinion! The characters were just so hard for me to get attached to. I read Shadow and Bone after finishing Six of Crows, and I have to say I enjoyed it more than Six of Crows! It was much better pacing-wise, and I felt more invested in the story.

      Like

Leave a Reply

