Heartless by Marissa Meyer

18584855Title: Heartless

Author: Marissa Meyer

Genre: Fantasy/Fairytale Retelling

Publisher: Macmillan

Synopsis: Catherine may be one of the most desired girls in Wonderland and a favorite of the unmarried King, but her interests lie elsewhere. A talented baker, she wants to open a shop and create delectable pastries. But for her mother, such a goal is unthinkable for a woman who could be a queen.

At a royal ball where Cath is expected to receive the King’s marriage proposal, she meets handsome and mysterious Jest. For the first time, she feels the pull of true attraction. At the risk of offending the King and infuriating her parents, she and Jest enter into a secret courtship.

Cath is determined to choose her own destiny. But in a land thriving with magic, madness, and monsters, fate has other plans.

••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

This was an absolutely stunning work of literature. Marissa Meyer, hOw do you always manage to pull at my emotions so devastatingly well? Magic & whimsy & tension & mystery & unforgettable characters = an absolute fairytale. Not to mention – it was soooo yummy. Like, I want to bake every single treat mentioned and eat 902348579 decadent desserts.

I think that one of the things that really contributed to how much I loved this book was the fact that, for the majority of the story, I listened to Heartless in audiobook form! It may have been the best audiobook I’ve ever had the pleasure of listening to. The narrator used such unique and funny voices for each of the characters, and her narration brought the story and all of the whimsy to life.

By the end of the book, I was both screaming at the characters and downright denying the inevitable ending (we have all heard of the Queen of Hearts, after all). If you’re prone to tear-jerkers, you better have a box of tissues handy…

I do, however, have a couple nits to pick within the story:

  • Cath was kind of annoying. She had ambition and was a kind person, but… she was whiny. She never truly took action for or against the King’s unwanted affections for her, and instead just complained. She didn’t didn’t stand up or fight for herself–she really didn’t do much of anything.
  • Also, the pacing was a weeeee bit off. The beginning was like, “YESSS LET’S DO THIS I AM READY.” Around halfway through, though… it got sluggish. It dragged for a bit. But when it picked up again, it was wonderful. The ending was was jam-packed with action and heartbreaking suffering.

So, all in all, should you read this book? I think the answer is obvious: yes. It wasn’t perfect, but it struck just the right balance for your fairy-tale, fantasy, romance-loving soul. Trust me, you want this one in your life. 🙂

2000px-4-5_stars-svg

 

17 thoughts on “Heartless by Marissa Meyer

  1. salmahsbookshelf says:

    Great review! I felt the same way about the pacing. I loved the beginning but the middle really slowed down so I ended up adding it to my DNF. But it sounds like it really picks up again so maybe I’ll give it another shot .

    Like

  2. Kathy @ Bookish Shelves says:

    I am so glad to see that you liked Heartless! I purchased the novel a while back and I have yet to read. However, I will definitely have to get around to doing so soon because your review makes it sound really intriguing! Great post!

    Like

  3. reflectionofthebooks says:

    Great review! I am reading this now (about half way through) and I am really enjoying it. Although I definitely know what you mean about the pace and about Cath being a bit whiny. She is really starting to get to my nerves, why doesn’t she do SOMETHING?!

    Like

  4. Vivalabooks says:

    I cannot wait to read this one! The premise sounds so interesting, and I always am down for a book with sweets and Wonderland. Although I hope I don’t find Cath too whiny and the pace isn’t too bad. Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

