Alex & Eliza: A Love Story ➳ Review!

32860355Title: Alex & Eliza: A Love Story

Author: Melissa De La Cruz

Publisher: Penguin Teen

Genre: YA Romance/Historical Fiction

Synopsis: 1777. Albany, New York.

As battle cries of the American Revolution echo in the distance, servants flutter about preparing for one of New York society’s biggest events: the Schuylers’ grand ball. Descended from two of the oldest and most distinguished bloodlines in New York, the Schuylers are proud to be one of their fledgling country’s founding families, and even prouder still of their three daughters—Angelica, with her razor-sharp wit; Peggy, with her dazzling looks; and Eliza, whose beauty and charm rival that of both her sisters, though she’d rather be aiding the colonists’ cause than dressing up for some silly ball.

Still, she can barely contain her excitement when she hears of the arrival of one Alexander Hamilton, a mysterious, rakish young colonel and General George Washington’s right-hand man. Though Alex has arrived as the bearer of bad news for the Schuylers, he can’t believe his luck—as an orphan, and a bastard one at that—to be in such esteemed company. And when Alex and Eliza meet that fateful night, so begins an epic love story that would forever change the course of American history.

In the pages of Alex and Eliza, #1 New York Times bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz brings to life the romance of young Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler

•••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

I was so pleasantly surprised by this story! I didn’t have extremely high expectations, so it’s only because the arc arrived on my doorstep that I decided to pick it up – and I am so glad I did.

While Alex & Eliza wasn’t prize winning literature, it was fun and easy to just sit down with and read. I was delighted by the old-fashioned-style writing, and all of the descriptions of dresses and manors and wigs made my little heart happy. It was sort of like a silly knock-off of Pride & Prejudice?? The history elements included were interesting to follow along with, and I think the author did a very nice job portraying the time period.alex&eliza

That said, it wasn’t a perfect novel. There were a few info dumps on history, and although the author told us of the Schuyler sisters’ intelligence, the majority of what saw of them was less intelligent and more silly and shallow. Eliza had her moments, but we saw none of the whip-sharp intelligence by Peggy or Angelica that we’ve come to know through our beloved musical. Their affairs sometimes verged on ridiculous, causing the plot to drag or seem implausible at some points.

All in all, however, I believe this book is worth a read! It was honestly just a fun book to read, and at the end, I found myself missing the story and Alex & Eliza. If you’re looking for an enjoyable, not-too-deep romance with a fun bit of history thrown in, I would definitely recommend you pick this up. 🙂

1280px-4_stars-svg

2 thoughts on “Alex & Eliza: A Love Story ➳ Review!

  1. Adalyn @ Glittering Reads says:

    I’m so excited to read this one! I wasn’t too sure when I heard that the author was going to switch it up from the original story of how Alexander and Eliza fell in love, but I’ve come to be quite excited for it now. It’s too bad that the sisters’ intelligence wasn’t portrayed well though. 😦

    Like

    • alittlebookworld says:

      Honestly, I do have to admit that it had flaws. But I really, really enjoyed reading it!! Some of the things were a bit different from the musical, but I think it’s good to look at it as a separate possibility of their love story since not much is know about it in the first place. I hope you pick it up! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

